The Oregon Rocketry Fillible’s Folly launch will be held this weekend, Sept. 19th and 20th, in Sheridan. Sheridan is just a little more than an hour south of Portland, and is one of our most popular high power launches of the year. Rocketeers of all ages and skill levels are welcome. We will have model rocket, mid-power rocket, and high power pads set up. The FAA waiver for high power rockets will be 5400 ft. AGL. The launch site will be the same as last year, just across Perrydale Road from the grain silos west of the Perrydale school. Directions to the site can be found on the Oregon Rocketry website, Once you get close to the site you should see signs directing you to the entrance route. Please follow the flags that mark the route, so that we do as little damage as possible to the grass field that we will be using.

The launch hours will be 8 AM – 6 PM on Saturday, and 8 AM – 2 PM on Sunday (or whenever we run out of rockets to fly). Night flights are possible on Saturday night is there is interest. The launch area will be set up starting on Friday morning, and Oregon Rocketry members are invited to launch rockets on Friday once set-up is complete. There will be an online sign-up list for launch site set-up and tear-down, RSO duty, and LCO duty; sign-up information will be posted in a separate e-mail. The launch will be held rain or shine, and although the weather will be cool and rainy this week, the forecast is for a dry weekend with warmer temperatures just in time for the launch. The launch will be conducted under NAR rules, so only commercial motors may be flown. Given the wetter weather expected this week, it is likely that we will permit sparky motors at this launch (but a final decision will be made on-site after we inspect the field). For members of Oregon Rocketry there will be no laun
ch fees; guests flying high power rockets will pay our standard launch fees ($20 individual or $30 family for the weekend), with reduced fees of $10 for low and mid-power fliers. If you are bringing a group to the launch, please contact the BOD for discounted fees. Spectators pay no fees – please come and watch!

This year’s launch should be bigger and better than ever. Sunriver Nature Center will be on site Saturday and Sunday as a vendor for rocket kits, motors, and supplies. We will also have food truck on site on Saturday – Slick’s Big TIme BBQ is coming back! There will be port-a-potties on site, and unimproved camping for tents and RVs. Please check in at the registration desk when you arrive to get a wristband, and check on permissible locations if you plan to camp. Many hotels and motels are available in McMinnville about 15 min. from the site. We will have several contests at the launch on Saturday: best rocket design/artwork, closest to the target, closest to 2000′ altitude, and a D motor drag race. Sign-up sheets will be available at the LCO table. Enter to win – we will have some great prizes. If you are interested in running one of the competitions, please contact me directly at

Please join us for what should be a fun weekend of rocketry!